Who we are

SOPLAS is a multi-disciplinary and intersectoral innovative training network of the European Commission under the Horizon 2020 programme (Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions). The  network is established by promoting scientific exchange between ten European research institutions and a research-oriented industry partner, with the network devoted to investigating soil pollution in an ecologically relevant manner with complementary research foci and methods. The network builds on and extends already established and fruitful cooperations between academia and industry, initiate new cooperations, and promotes cooperation among industry partners.
Overall, the SOPLAS ETN contributes to the education of a new generation of environmental scientists with profound knowledge across the analysis, origin, fate and effects of plastics in soil as well as its socio-economic implications. SOPLAS brings together a dynamic, multi-disciplinary team of senior and early stage researchers (ESRs) and connect as well as train the next generation of highly-skilled environmental professionals.

Our Project Team:

Peter Fiener
(Project Coordinator)

Florian Wilken
(Project Manager)

  • Melanie Braun
  • Wulf Amelung
  • José A. Gómez
  • Blanca B. Landa
  • Christine Stumpp
  • Guiseppe Brunetti
  • Rita Hoster
  • Violette Geisen
  • Paula Harkes
  • Michael Sander
  • John Quinton
  • Crispin Hallsal
  • Maria J.I. Briones
  • Ashar Aftab
  • Riccardo Scarpa
  • Heidi Doose
  • Annika Batel
  • Kristof Van Oost
  • Marco Kunaschk
  • Katrin Mögele
  • Marcus Kratschke
  • Chris Jones
  • Matthias Mail
  • Torsten Scherer
  • José Paulo Sousa
  • Tomáš Kendík
  • Tomáš Dostál
  • David Zumr
  • Josef Krasa

Our ESRs:


Manuel Barrientos Cifuentes


Alessandro Fabrizi


Stoyana Peneva


Olivia Wrigley


Nhu Phan 


Ana Carolina Cugler Moreira


Flora Wille


Davi Munhoz


Giovana Macan


Elise Quigley


Ahsan Maqbool


Wang Li


Emilee Severe


Saunak Sinha Ray

Copyright © 2021 soplas

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie grant agreement No 955334.